Chocolate Mousse

This recipe is from Mme. Liscinsky, one of my beloved French teachers in college.  She organized a trip to France every summer for her students to study at a college in Nancy, France.  She died a few years after I graduated (tragically, in a car accident in France during one of her annual trips with students).  While I was in college, she also welcomed students into her home for student-faculty social events.  During one of those, she made this fabulous mousse and gave me the recipe.  When I tried to make it for my family and some friends at the holidays that year, I used 2 Tbsp of coffee grounds instead of brewed coffee.  It was not my finest cooking moment … but I fondly remember Mme. Liscinsky when I think of this memory.

Ingredients:

  • 6 oz semi-sweet chocolate in pieces
  • 1/2 cups sugar
  • 6 eggs, separated
  • 2 Tbsp strong coffee (brewed)
  • 1 Tbsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 tsp cream of tartar

Directions:

  1. Place the chocolate pieces into the food processor bowl, fitted with metal blade.  Turn machine on and off a few times and then let it run until the chocolate is finely chopped.
  2. In a saucepan, melt 1/4 cup sugar in 1/3 cup boiling water.  Pour it through feeding tube into the chocolate.  Turn food processor on and off until the chocolate gets creamy.  Let it cool in the bowl.
  3. Separate the eggs.  Beat egg whites and cream of tartar until stiff.  Add the remaining 1/4 cup sugar and beat again until firm.  Add the egg yolks, coffee, and vanilla to the chocolate mixture.  Turn it off and on a few times until mixed.
  4. Add 1/3 of the stiff egg whites to the mixture, turning motor on and off 2 to 3 times.  Add the remaining egg whites.  Mix quickly only for a few seconds.  Pour into a serving bowl.  Refrigerate for several hours until firm.

I have to say that as I have learned more about cooking … I’m not too certain about the raw egg component of this mousse and honestly I haven’t made it in a long time because of that!

Leave a Reply

