Mom’s Berry Delicious Smoothie

on

My mom has been describing her smoothie concoction to me … and I was a little skeptical about whether I would like her smoothie recipe.  It includes bananas and spinach (I know bananas are highly popular in smoothies, but I just don’t care for the flavor).  However, when I came to visit this past weekend and she let me taste, I discovered that you can’t taste the spinach and the banana flavor is so mild in this recipe.  I’m definitely going to try this myself when I get home.  She did not have a recipe written down, so I tried to approximate her ingredients while she made it this morning.

Makes 2 large smoothies:

Ingredients:

  • ~ 1/2 cup cranberry juice (100% cranberry juice, no sugar added)
  • ~ 3/4 cup orange juice
  • ~ 1/2 cup water
  • ~ 8 large ice cubes
  • 4 Tablespoon full of vanilla yogurt (Dannon Light & Fit)
  • 1 ripe banana, fresh (room-temp)
  • ~1/4 cup blueberries (frozen)
  • ~ 1/4 cup red raspberries (frozen)
  • ~ 8 cherries (frozen)
  • ~ 8 strawberries (frozen)
  • 2 large fistfuls of spinach

Blend in Ninja until smooth (this is very runny smoothie).

 

Leave a Reply

